Local NewsNews

Laudick Elected CF Mayor, Hart Re-elected Wloo Mayor

Crisman, Hawbaker Win CF Council Seats

The new mayor in Cedar Falls will be Danny Laudick, after the unofficial results were in from Tuesday night’s elections.  Laudick easily outdistanced challenger Walter Burtis with 79% of the vote.  Laudick says he’s very grateful to be elected.

Laudick says the next step is to get with and begin work with the new elected council members.

In the at-large race, Hannah Crisman topped challengers Patrick McEleney and Donna Bash. In Ward 4, Aaron Hawbaker won his first term in office over Gabe Groothuis. Christopher Latta ran unopposed for the Ward 2 seat, replacing longtime councilmember Susan deBuhr, who chose not to run again.   Mayor Rob Green, and councilmen David Sires and Simon Harding also chose not to run for re-election.

Waterloo’s incumbent mayor Quentin Hart won his fifth term in office with 68% of the vote over challenger Wayne Nathem.  Hart says he’s pleased that Waterloo citizens saw fit to re-elect him.

Hart says much was accomplished in the past two years and there’s more ahead.

In the Waterloo at-large race, Steve Simon and Jonathan Grieder will go to a run-off election December 5th, as neither of the four candidates in that race gained the 50% vote needed for election.  In Ward 4, Councilperson Belinda Creighton-Smith won a full term over two challengers after filling the seat vacated by Jerome Amos, who was elected to the Iowa Legislature in House District 62.  Former at-large councilman Dave Boesen ran unopposed for the Ward 2 seat.

On the Cedar Falls School Board, incumbent Nate Gruber was the top vote-getter, with Jeff Orvis, Bett Peterson and Megan Witt also winning election.  Orvis rejoins the board after a two-year break, having lost re-election at that time.

On the Waterloo School board, incumbents Stacie Mills and Lyle Schmitt won re-election. Challenger Dr. John Berry finished third.  For Schmitt, this is his 10th term on the board.

A local option sales and services tax vote was overwhelmingly approved for Cedar Falls, Waterloo, Hudson, Evansdale, Elk Run Heights and Raymond with 73% of the vote.


Show More

Scott Fenzloff

Scott has been with Coloff Media since 1995, and on the air in the Cedar Valley since 1989. You can catch Scott 6-10AM Mon-Fri on Cruisin KCFI, along with news updates at noon and 5PM.
Back to top button