Local NewsNews

2024 Local Primary Election Results

Sires to Face Giddens in Senate District 38 This Fall, Neff Wins Sheriff Primary Vote

Several local and state races for November were decided Tuesday night in the 2024 primary election. In the Black Hawk County Board of Supervisors race, incumbent Chris Schwartz was the top vote-getter, followed by challenger Kamyar Enshayan, and incumbent Linda Laylin. Republican Justin Brandt will also be on November’s ballot, as he ran unopposed. For the County Sheriff’s race, current Black Hawk County Sheriff’s Captain Nate Neff cruised to an easy victory over challenger Nihad Masic.

Former Cedar Falls City Councilman Dave Sires will face incumbent Eric Giddens for the State Senate District 38 seat this fall. Sires outdistanced Republican challengers Steve Schmitt, and James McCullagh with 59 percent of the vote.  The district covers portions of Black Hawk, Tama, and Benton Counties. 

Voter turnout in Black Hawk County for the 2024 primary election was 5.72%.  

Show More

Scott Fenzloff

Scott has been with Coloff Media since 1995, and on the air in the Cedar Valley since 1989. You can catch Scott 6-10AM Mon-Fri on Cruisin KCFI, along with news updates at noon and 5PM.
Back to top button